NCAA: Four Teams Fight to be Champion

The 2014 NCAA football regular season has concluded as four teams now fight to be crowned National Champions. Those four teams include Alabama (1), Oregon (2), Florida State (3) and Ohio State (4) after finishing atop the selection committee’s rankings. The question is what team will take home back to back wins to win the first ever College Playoff?

That team is preciously the Alabama Crimson Tide after the team fought back after an early season loss to win the SEC Championship. This marks the fourth time in six years the Crimson Tide have positioned themselves in a spot to take home the title. In all three of the other seasons the Tide finished with the crown after defeating Texas in 2009, LSA in 2011 and Notre Dame in 2012.

Now this year’s team is built around one of the top defenses in the country entering the contest allowing the 11th most yards per game, second in rushing yards per game and fourth fewest points per game in the country. The Tide will have their hands full in All-State Sugar Bowl against an Ohio State team that is averaging over 260 yards per game on the ground.

Much like the National Title game a few seasons back against Notre Dame, the Buckeyes have had limited tests outside of Michigan State and Wisconsin this season. Nick Saban and the Crimson Tide coaches will be ready to slow down sophomore quarterback Cardale Jones. This game might have went a different direction if J.T. Barrett was still in the lineup.

On the offensive side of the ball the Crimson Tide enter this contest as a dual threat team with the top play maker in the nation Amari Cooper on the outside. Despite the Buckeyes success against the Badgers this Tide team is built not only around the run but also the pass. Blake Sims has put together a solid senior season throwing for over 3,200 yards along with 26 touchdowns. Cooper leads the nation in receiving yards (1,656), receptions (115) and second in touchdowns with 14.

In the end the Tide roll to their fourth national title under Nick Saban!

Comments are closed.